Ballet X at the Wilma Theater

I have been so tired and feeling down that I kept trying to do something, so I went to the ballet X at the Wilma Theater. It was at 2:00pm on Saturday and I left by taxi in the snow and came back by taxi floating like on waves down Chestnut Street!!!
The ballet is superb especially the the first piece and the last one. The first is Talsikan – for me, the movements of the dancers and their crawling and crouching bodies were throwing me back into Cambodia with low movement close to the ground.   Those long strips of thin material sticking out of them or enrobing them or helping them manoeuver the real and the unreal made me think of bamboosticks, bamboo llanas!
The last one  with Guantanamera ,a song i love, a song of protest, freedom, joy no matter what, passion, the absurd in midst of the most beautiful, of suffering and being misunderstood as was La Lupe. I loved it so much. A song sung by Joan Baez!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

