St Petersburg & Nizhny Novgorod

1010066_358146430979562_1370566379_nA fabulous trip with a lot of work, very rewarding!!
I was a star (!!!) in St Petersburg, with interview for the city paper.
I made pate de foie with truffles and madeira, brioches, chocolate mousse and tajine of Chicken livers for a separate event at the Slow Food headquarter (we had too many chicken livers, so…)
In Nizhny Novgorod I was at a picnic for a big Fair. I made French omelette.
Then in a famous restaurant for two National Russian Television stations I made chocolate mousse and brioche.
In my favorite 3 star restaurant where I was a guest for all my meals, I made sauce calvados and sauce Armagnac. I helped the chef with some help on lobster bisque. They have delicious shrimp from Kamchatka.

1074778_358147804312758_291766638_o
To thank them for their tremendous generosity, I cooked a couscous for 12 people with all the garnishes of dates, figs, oranges, coriander and harissa and toasted almonds. I bought Grand Marnier for the hostess and champagne from Crimea, which is very good.
I stayed in a beautiful apartment where the lady who runs the restaurant that I love would pick me up to go to work in a coupe Mercedes!!! Not a bad situation. I am invited to go next year to Siberia not for the gulag… but for being a guest chef in a restaurant in Novosibisk.
1146215_707187689298063_1581148225_oNow I am in Suzdal, a famous historic town near Moscow, I am not cooking, I think. I may help the lady of the house with dinner Sautee salmon perch and puree. It is cold and raining I am sitting by the fire.

Demonstration in Nizhny Novgorod

Demonstration in Nizhny Novgorod

Demonstration in Nizhny Novgorod

Demonstration in Nizhny Novgorod

Interview in Nizhny Novgorod

Leave a Reply

