4th of July Weekend 2010

I drove to Bellport New York to visit an old friend and customer of the Spring Mill Cafe.  We enjoyed a superb 3rd of July dinner on the deck looking over the marshes facing Fire Island.  The high point of the weekend was meeting with two former French waiters of the Spring Mill Cafe.  The one named Eric Messin is now a Custom Jeweler in South Hampton.  He creates very unique pieces.  He has a beautiful old barn type of shop that used to be owned by a French Huguenot.  The other, Franck Messin, lived in Marseilles until 3 days ago, sold his house, cars, and belongings, and with his wife and their three children, took off for a year to explore North and South America.   I had not seen them for 23 years.  My friend and I invited them for a picnic dinner at my friends house.  It was like we had seen each other just a couple weeks ago.  It was fabulous.  I wish everybody felt the way I felt this weekend.

Leave a Reply

